Aruba Beach
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Dive Operators

Dive Operators

My wife tried Scuba last year and loved it. She took a resort course with Red Sail. This year we are going back to Aruba and she would like to get certified. I am already Advanced Open Water certified. We are familiar with Red Sail but I'm wondering if there are any other outfits that are better or any we should stay away from.

Thanks.

Unique Sports of Aruba (USA) on Eagle Beach next to the Radison. I have been diving with these guys every year for the last ten years. They are highly professional and PADI approved facility. I did my advanced open water with them. They are the best in the Caribbean! Tell Emitt, Hello from Cape Cod and I'll see him August 21st. Best Regards, Jim Gallagher

Try DiveAruba,Clive the owner has been in business and diving for more than twenty years.Tell him DannyO will see him in October.
    Last edited by DANNYO; 06-04-2007 at 05:19 PM.

You will get loads of suggestions on dive operators. You are already familiar with Red Sail. Unique just bought out Pelican, so that cuts down the decision making somewhat.

May I suggest however that if your dw's time allows, do her classroom instruction at home prior to vacation. When she arrives in Aruba she will have her "referral" and would then just need to perfom her water testing certifications. I got my OW and AOW certs on vacation one year and slept, ate and dreamt scuba diving which is nice, but it wasn't much of a vacation.

I wanted to revive this thread and hear some more input on dive shops. My fiance and I just became OW certified and want to do some diving while on your honeymoon. I've heard good things about Pelican & Red Sail Sports. We'll be staying at the Hyatt, so we were drawn to Red Sail at first since from what I've read, the boat will pick you up at a pier right at the Hyatt.

Also, what is it customary to tip the crew while diving in Aruba?

Dive Operator