Aruba Beach

Thread: Scuba conditions west vs south coast

Scuba conditions west vs south coast

We are headed to Aruba next week for our first time. I've been researching some of the dive operators (good info here in historical threads)! Found that many of the operators recommend diving western sites prior to southern sites unless you have x dives and have had a dive within the last x months.

How much do the conditions vary between the two areas? Is it mostly a matter of current and surface "chop"?

I've been diving for many years and consider myself fairly experienced (with a few advanced certification levels) but my wife is only OW certified with just a few vacations worth of dives under her belt.

First off, different sources have different variations on which direction exactly is which. The directions I am going to state, may not necessarily agree on all of the maps, but by comparing the maps and the sites, you will DEFINITELY have an idea of what I mean.

There is a difference in Aruba between the north and south coasts and the eastern and western ends of the island. The north and west coast is expert level only. The eastern tip has Baby Beach. Dh had his DM cert and given the chance, would not have have dove north or west. The island's local dm's and di's we had dove with, only very seldomly dive these sites, and always in the fall when there were "dead winds".

http://www.aruba.com/whattodo/scubad2.php
    Natural Bridge dive and California wreck, same "dead wind" conditions would have to exist. On the map the location of Arashi is in actually a little further south.

For example, a review of a dive at the Natural Bridge from shorediving.com http://www.shorediving.com/Earth/ABC/Aruba/Boca_Anidicuri/index.htm: