Aruba Beach
Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: SHARKS!!

Quote Originally Posted by kiss44 View Post
    Are you sure you were in Aruba???? Never heard of this before, and I am a frequent visitor, not to mention have friends that live there!
    Charlie posted this panic inducing statement and then never replied again. I'm sure it was just a prank.
    Aruba History:
    Lou: Visited on a cruise in 2005
    Lou&Nay: Will visit on our honeymoon 9/2008

shark in Aruba

Ok, now I have been snorkling in Aruba for 8 yrs now and NEVER saw what I had seen at DePalm 2 weeks ago. We were out on the reef when a shark about 4.5 feet swam by me. It took a few minutes to sink in and I was furious I did not have my camera. Then a paniced just a little and signaled my husband. He did not see the shark. We went back to the dock and I asked the attendant what type it was,,,,he was a little hesitant and then finally said,"oh, you saw our lemon shark that has been swimming around our reef." Just then a little girl about 10 came up and said she saw the shark too. So i knew I wasn't crazy. I have seen sharks in the water on other islands before but this was my first for Aruba.

I have heard they have sharks around the island, but have heard that in order to keep them on the rougher side of the island they throw old meat out daily.....anyone know if that is true or not ???? We never see any boats out around the rough side when we take the jeeps or quads out, but then it may be a different time of day......
    ARUBA....HOME AWAY FROM HOME

Quote Originally Posted by danadog56 View Post
    they throw old meat out daily.....anyone know if that is true or not ???? We never see any boats out around the rough side when we take the jeeps or quads out, but then it may be a different time of day......