Aruba Beach
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By act1966

Thread: My advice if you live in USA getting married in Aruba

My advice if you live in USA getting married in Aruba

Met my husband while on vacation in Aruba- so of course we decided to marry in Aruba! Great civil ceremony and beach I do. Got certificate that consisted of 3 pages -1) translation, 2) apostille stamp of official translation/stamp stickers of Registars office, 3) Dutch certificate with stamp, signatures . I have been using my married name since 2006 and had no issues- banks, dmv, social security.

Fast forward to 2018. Well I decided to renew my passport that expired a couple of years ago and change name to married name (that I have been using since 2006.) They refused document saying translation was not official- I called and waited all day- finally they decided they would approve after much debate( found out at 8:30 PM.). I got lucky because it was a toss up if document would be excepted. I spent my day panicked trying to call Registars office - number didnít work and trying to find info online all where in Dutch or had this number that did not work. My coordinator is no longer available and finally I found someone who was on some correspondence from our wedding prep. She said she would work on getting certificate for me and me saying whatever it costs - need ASAP. While Iím thankful for this woman,really I have no idea who she is or how dependable she will actually be.

My advice, get married in Aruba, but make sure you do a civil ceremony in the USA so you have a US certificate. Iím going to try to do this, but as everything, except my birth certificate, is in my married name, this will be no easy task. Ugh - I got married 12 years ago and it still haunts me!!

The beauty of doing anything legal in another country where you don't know the language! Hope it all works out for you and hope the wedding ceremony was all you wanted it to be back then!