Aruba Beach

Thread: Newbie here, info on Occidental Grande Aruba?

Newbie here, info on Occidental Grande Aruba?

Hi!
    My husband and I are planning a trip in May to Aruba - our first time!

I have some questions from you Aruba Insiders

1. My husband has a bad back and can't walk for long periods of time, any suggestions for things very nearby that we can explore?

2. should we rent a car? My husband heard that the bus is very good but I'm afraid that it would entail a lot of walking getting to and from the pick up points???

3 are there mosquitos?

4. Is the beach there good for snorkeling? I just learned how and it's a lot of fun but don't like rough water!!

5. Are there places to shop and eat nearby?

Thanks so much for your help We really appreciate it.

Meenie and Ytwater

Banned
    Manchebo Eagle Beach, Oceania Residences, Occidental
    1. My husband has a bad back and can't walk for long periods of time, any suggestions for things very nearby that we can explore? There really isn't too much to explore around the hotel areas. There is a nice boardwalk behind the hotels for a leisurely stroll. The best exploring is on the backside or south coast for some beautiful and unexpected scenery. Renting a jeep for a day is a good idea.

2. should we rent a car? My husband heard that the bus is very good but I'm afraid that it would entail a lot of walking getting to and from the pick up points??? Lots of pick up spots around the hotels. There is one right behind the Occidental on the main road.

3 are there mosquitos? yes when it is rainy. This has been a very dry rainy season so they have not been too bad. I would still bring bug spray just in case.

4. Is the beach there good for snorkeling? I just learned how and it's a lot of fun but don't like rough water!! Palm Beach is not good for Snorkeling but the water is very calm.