Aruba Beach
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Dell Hell

Quote Originally Posted by rob o View Post
    We have 5 Dells. I agree with Lisa....never again. When I need tech support, I visit the little geek down the street. Two advantages: (1) he knows his stuff....doesn't work from a pre-determined menu; (2) speaks english.

He speaks English that's great!

I guess I am lucky I never had to deal with tech support especially since the helpdesk is outsourced to India for cost reason. Don't get me started there.

Thank goodness I am a network/systems engineer so most of the time I can figure things out or ask a colleague or just blow away my system and rebuild.

It's a windows thing, it's horrible! A Mac is a reliable machine but mainly built for graphic designers or someone doing photo or video editing.

My Mom just bought a gateway, I set it up for her and I must say it is a pretty nice setup, no issues.

Next time I have an issue with windows Iam going to blow it away and install red hat or another flavor of Linux on it and run it that way. I' will not see any of those window problems again.

Wow.....Have had dell, hp and gateway desk and laptops and haven't had any major issues with any of them...knock on wood ! Think I may just be lucky...had to call dell recently and could not understand a word the fellow spoke...same as when I have problems with internet...I have Hughesnet(off shoot of Directv) and I NEVER understand a word....
    Oh well, we keep buying from companies that outsource internationally as well as move there for cheap labor and this is what we should expect....
    ARUBA....HOME AWAY FROM HOME

Just keep requesting to speek to a manager until you get resolution, I learned that trick AFTER logging over 15 hours trying to fix a problem

Arrow The cause...

Okay the problem with the computer was...