Aruba Beach
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Finance Options for Piece of Paradise

Banned
    My swimming pool with a 7/7 or in my boat with a fishing rod looking in at Malmok.

Cool Think someone got it wrong

I am not an expert on Aruba, but is researching like crazy (since I bought a house there and plan to go ALOT for a long time)
    One thing that seems to confuse everyone is how long you are allowed to stay.
    The confusing seems to be coming from the FAQ on the Casbon site, which states "Visitors to Aruba need proof of identity and are allowed to stay up to 14 days. For citizens from countries like the United States and Canada, whose country has a visa abolition agreement with the Netherlands, the length of stay may be up to three months. Citizens of the Netherlands and Netherlands Antilles may stay on Aruba up to six months. "
    Correct me if I am wrong, but from what I can see on this PDF from the Immigration Department of Aruba, All visitors from US, Canadian and EU can stay up to 180 days !!!! of year without applying for an extension.
    http://brochures.aruba.com/entryreq/...quirements.pdf
    I could be misunderstanding something, but to me it looks like the good people of Casbon got it wrong or missed the changes of 2006.
    Please let me know if you disagree.
    If not it is great for me and you, so forget the Virgins

Casbon site has not been updated for years. If you own a home in Aruba and from the U.S you can stay up 180 day's in a calendar year. when you come into Aruba and you fill out your immigrations card it ask where and how long you will be staying in Aruba. In my case, I had to prove I owned Property, I had my notary papers with me.

Thanks for the info,180 days is better than 90...but still im looking to retire there and live there full time..Maybe things will ease up in the next 3 years and we can live there years around..We just love the island and the people and to be frank i have had it w/NY State..and need the move...