Aruba Beach
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25

Thread: High Speed Internet???

  1. #11
    Senior Member Arubalisa's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Any Aruba beach...
    Posts
    13,177
    Quote Originally Posted by lizzardo View Post
    It's funny because some people in the states say they have problems with vonage there - but no big problems w/ it here.
    LOL, we get better AT&T 3G coverage in Aruba than we do at home!

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    11
    Fantastic vonage works there, Lizzardo can I ask you what kind of internet service, speed and whatnot you use there so the vonage will work.

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    265
    I would also like some info on Vonage & AT&T. Setar requires a one year contract. Looking for a service I can use for shorter period.

    We have Comcast in the U.S. and it is not available in Aruba, at least not yet.
    Tom & Karen

    Next Trip: Jan. 6 - April 7

  4. #14
    Aruba since 1979
    Moderator
    Andrea J.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    29,917
    Tom
    i am being nosey.
    you go to aruba 2 times a yr and stay what, maybe 3 months each visit?
    would setar set up a plan with you for you to have service when you are on island? and suspend it while you are off island? meaning, when you are off island, setar charges you a minimal monthly rate just to keep the wires connected to your house?

    i think i remember dan p aka san nic saying he has that kind of service.

    andrea

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    265
    Cable will do that for TV only. There is a small connection charge each time, which is fine, and we has done this since we bought our house. When cable started their internet service, there is a one year contract & they will not change it.
    Tom & Karen

    Next Trip: Jan. 6 - April 7

  6. #16
    Aruba since 1979
    Moderator
    Andrea J.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    29,917
    that is too bad about the internet and your predicament.

    so instead of them getting your business for when you are there.....including a reconnect fee each time.....they do not have your business at all. no winners in the longrun.

    everything with some buisiness are so black and white.
    do they not realize that life is one big gray area?

  7. #17
    Senior Member lizzardo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    961
    I'll have to get Mick to tell me! I just use it - he's my network guy!

    I understand that 3G cellular is wayyy expensive. My friend comes
    with an Iphone (which I covet) but never gets the service because
    he says it's really expensive.

    As far as Aruba is concerned - I would say "grey" is it's general color for
    most subjects. LOL!

  8. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    62
    Tom
    Is there charge to disconnect when leaving the island.
    Do you know howmany time a year they would allow for this.
    How much notice do you need to give to the cable company to get reconnected.
    This could help quite a bit as I have been leaving the cable hooked up and connected and paying the monthly bill.
    I guess I could get internet hooked up down there and install a sling box and watch Aruba cable here in the states.
    Thanks for any info.
    Let the Carnival Begin
    Mr Norman Paperman

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    265
    There is a 35 AFL reconnect fee. In the past, we turned it off and on 3 times a year. Now we just do 2. It must be done in writing at the office. We are scheduled to have it turned on Sept. 1, but I will call to be safe. In the past, we have also had to fax a signed request to turn it on. 30 days notice in enough.

    Now that Setar is involved with cable, I hope they continue this practice.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Norman Paperman View Post
    Tom
    Is there charge to disconnect when leaving the island.
    Do you know howmany time a year they would allow for this.
    How much notice do you need to give to the cable company to get reconnected.
    This could help quite a bit as I have been leaving the cable hooked up and connected and paying the monthly bill.
    I guess I could get internet hooked up down there and install a sling box and watch Aruba cable here in the states.
    Thanks for any info.
    Tom & Karen

    Next Trip: Jan. 6 - April 7

  10. #20
    Senior Member lizzardo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    961
    We have the "comfort" package DSL from setar.

    I have a neighbor who doesn't live here all the time -
    he just keeps the service on because of the hassle
    of having to go to setar, wait for someone to do it -
    Doesn't want to have all these little "tasks" (which
    in Aruba sometimes takes a long time ) interfere
    with his vacation.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO