Aruba Beach

Thread: Management Traineeship / Internship in Aruba

Management Traineeship / Internship in Aruba

Hello Everyone,

First of all, thank you very much for this site, I can see how useful it is and how much time moderators are spending here trying to help.

This is my situation, I am a spanish post graduated student with experience in 5***** and Luxury Hotels.

Right now, I was offered by the General Manager of a resort a 12 months management traineeship with a Resort located in Aruba (Palm Beach). I already sent to the HR department the documents that they asked me (Passport, Diploma, Certificate of no criminal record etc etc....)

I was told that they would contact DIMAS Department to try to obtain my special work permit, since this is not a regular work permit, cause it would be only for a Traineeship, not a normal job, and only 12 months duration. They already warned me that this would not be easy cause they are very strict in favour of Arubans.

It was 10 days since they contacted DIMAS, i have read it can take up to 12 weeks. Obviouslly this opportunity may change my life, that is why I am a bit anxious and really excited.

The question it is if you have knowledge of a similar situation in obtaining a traineeship permit, not a work permit, is it "easier" to obtain this? are my odds a bit higher?

Thank you so much!

I hope my next post it is about looking for acommodation , that would be great!

Aruba since 1979
    welcome to the aruba.com community forum

i have no answers for you re: DIMAS and the "special permit"
    but i can say, allow that HR dept do what they do and let them do the leg work . i know you are anxious and i hope the wait is short and hoe that you get the "special permit"
    Quote Originally Posted by Braskinson View Post
    Hello Everyone,

First of all, thank you very much for this site, I can see how useful it is and how much time moderators are spending here trying to help.