Aruba Beach
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Airport to hotel transport through AAA?

Airport to hotel transport through AAA?

Has anyone ever booked their trip to Aruba through AAA? The packaged we booked includes transport to & from the hotel. I booked it on Friday & as the weekend went on I began to think, "How will we know where said transport will be when we arrive at AUA?" When we get off the plane in Aruba & head to baggage, will there be some sort of van/bus for AAA members or something?

I'm new to non-US travel & never had to think about stuff like this before. I'm sure once it gets closer, our TA will let us know the details, but I figured I'd ask here first. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!!

Also, from what I'm reading, it's about 30 minutes from the airport to the Tam ... is that accurate? And what's the drive like? I know friends of mine who just went to St. Lucia & had a treacherous 2 hour drive through the not so great sights - haha! Wondering how scenic the drive is through Aruba from the airport to the Tam...
    Last edited by cupidgirl21483; 04-10-2011 at 11:17 PM.

Aruba since 1979
    the transportation that AAA lined you with is most likely DEPALM motorcoach.

there will be folks that will tell you pros and cons of taking the motorcoach.

when you pick up your luggage, you will proceed thru aruba customs (usually they wave you thru...quite painless).
    once you step outside there will be BIG DEPALM MOTORCOACHES/BUSSES

depalm person loads the luggage.
    you hand the driver the transfer voucher and you are good to go.

the drive from the airport to the tamarijn is 15 minutes or less without traffic.

tamarijnn is the 4th stop on the Depalm bus route.

aruba is totally not third world country.......
    infrastructure is pretty good.
    good roads pretty much.

the views from airport to tam.......a drive thru downtown then the tamarijn!
    pretty non scenic......pretty buildings downtown. nice views of the ocean too.