Aruba Beach
Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Jacki
  • 1 Post By Andrea J.
  • 1 Post By arubabob

Thread: CDW carrental

CDW carrental

I am renting a car with Wheels2Go and was wondering when renting a car if you take the additional CDW Insurance? If I understand right its an Insurance that covers damage at your own car when havind an accident right?
    They dont offer a LDW Insurance, does that mean there is no coverage by theft? I know they steal batteries on the Island..

On my earlier trips to curacao my friend arranged a car for me, but i didnt had any additional Insurance and they stole my headlights, never had to pay extra for it so I think thats covered by an Insurance the carrental has?

Thanks for the advice!

First step is to check with your credit card company and see what type of coverage they offer when you rent a car using their card.
    Jacki ~ loving Aruba from NJ

Probally not because I have a standard mastercard with my bankaccount, Checking if I can upgrade my card but I don't think I make enough money each month :S In Holland a creditcard is not usual to pay with and we pay with ATM card everywhere. I'll get back on that when my bank replies.

Aruba since 1979
    check with your trip insurance to see if there is an option for CDW

Just got an email back from the bank, with the following information, guess it means I have to upgrade to Gold Card if I want the following extra card Insurance:

- Auto Legal Assistance
    - Excess insurance ( only at ABN AMRO Gold Card )
    If you pay your rental car with the Gold Card, the deductible in case of damage is automatically insured for up to € 500 , - per event.

So I think that is the CDW ( I think its pretty bad that those Bankpeople can't tell me if it's the same).

I am also going to check with my travelinsurance if car rental is covered! Thank you for the advice so far!

Aruba since 1979
    here is wikipedia's definition

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Damage_waiver