Aruba Beach
Aruba Nights Island Guide
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By jtwcarboy

Thread: Calling an Aruba Cell phone

  1. #1
    Member jtwcarboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    82

    Calling an Aruba Cell phone

    I will have my US Verizon phone with me in aruba and want to know how to dial an Aruba cell phone from my cell phone while i am in aruba?

    I know i dont have to dial country code since im already there but will i just dial the 7 digit aruba number and thats it or what ?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Aruba since 1979
    Moderator
    Andrea J.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    29,908
    will u have a setar or digicel SIM card in that us verizon phone?

  3. #3
    Member jtwcarboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    82
    No I have my verizon sim card, if you look on verizons website they say it will work in aruba and also i called them to confirm it would work. see the link below:

    http://businessportals.verizonwirele...ean/Aruba.html

  4. #4
    Member jtwcarboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    82
    Also my phone is blackberry global edition (GSM and CDMA)

  5. #5
    Aruba since 1979
    Moderator
    Andrea J.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    29,908
    so you will have roaming fees :-(

    if you are not in a free wifi area and your data plan is accepting emails and texts, then my understanding that roaming fees will be applied.


    your verizon phone is a USA based phone.
    i may be wrong, but using it in aruba, you would have to also dial the country code and area code 011 297.


    can anyone verify?


    i have a us verizon iphone 4.
    before we got on the plane i put it in AIRPLANE MODE and kept it there for the duration of the trip.

  6. #6
    Member jtwcarboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    82
    Thanks Andrea,
    FYI , Its my work phone so guess who pays the bill !!
    My work is putting me on the international data and voice plan before i leave but from reading some other blogs it sounds like it should work and ill just dial the local 7 digit number. Ill wait and see what everyone else says . Thanks again

  7. #7
    Aruba since 1979
    Moderator
    Andrea J.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    29,908
    good!

    i am truly a cell phone idiot.
    i went into verizon here in my town and they told me about the roaming etc...

    i have an aruba cell phone. it is a little nokia with digicel service that takes and makes calls. nothing else.

    please let us know how the international data and voice plan worked once you return.
    Quote Originally Posted by jtwcarboy View Post
    Thanks Andrea,
    FYI , Its my work phone so guess who pays the bill !!
    My work is putting me on the international data and voice plan before i leave but from reading some other blogs it sounds like it should work and ill just dial the local 7 digit number. Ill wait and see what everyone else says . Thanks again

  8. #8
    Senior Member Eagle Beach Boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Eagle Beach
    Posts
    510
    I am in Canada and use Rogers as my cell phone provider. They told me it would work in Aruba. But in all the years I tried It did not connect to Digicel which it supposed to. I have tried changing the Frequencies but still nothing.
    I now have an old phone I use strickly for Aruba.
    Eagle Beach Boy
    Ontario, Canada




  9. #9
    Member jtwcarboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    82
    So i guess i can take any old phone that takes a sim card and use that in aruba when i go(if my blackberry doesnt work ) right ?

  10. #10
    Member jtwcarboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    82
    Just an update, i had my blackberry in aruba and i was able to dial US numbers as if i was in the states and then aruba numbers i just dialed the 7 digits only and it worked. At one time my blackberry said digicel and wouldnt work but i switched the network over to 1xev and it worked just like normal again.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO