Aruba Beach
Aruba Nights Island Guide
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree25Likes

Thread: Iguanas

Iguanas

Resurrecting the thread as a newbie, I was curious about iguanas. I've seen videos of people feeding them. Do they now associate people with food and bother you, or do they mind their own business until someone entices them? I've heard iguana bites (at least from those in captivity) can leave a mark. IMO, no one should be feeding them:

https://blogs.scientificamerican.com...h-cholesterol/

Around some of the resorts, the iguanas have become very accustomed to people. There are signs not to feed them but people still do. I have seem them jump on tables and people's laps

They never bothered us at all until the day my husband and our friend decided they should feed them. Then one little iguana went brought back his friends and they swarmed us. My friend was trying to eat a little while later and one jumped up on her lounge chair for his share. We blame the husbands; that was the only time we have ever been bothered.

Aruba since 1979
    jason i broke your posting this away from the old thread and made it its own thread.

i think that the iguanas tend to mind their own business for the most part.
    however, if you are drinking a fancy drink with bright red maraschino cherries, their eyes widen and their mouths water.

imo iguanas in aruba are the equivalent to squirrels in the USA. they are around, numerous and they do their own thing.

many people DO feed them and that really is not a good thing.

what i dislike is when the defacate on the decking /walkways around the pool.

the resorts DO have them removed when they become problematic and a nuisance.

there may be a few on the island that enjoy the taste of iguana stew. (my husband had a taste of it many years ago)
    but, to the best of my knowledge, killing them for food is illegal.

Aruba since 1979
    ps
    read jacki's latest trip report
    she has a link to her photos in that report.