Aruba Beach
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Timeshare auctions on EBAY

Timeshare auctions on EBAY

Since I am completely new to this, I decided to research timeshares a bit online and have gone on many different sites including Redweek, Tug2net and Ebay. I notice that there are some TS selling for incredibly low prices and in the case of EBAY, some without any reserve price and the bids are as low as $100. How can this be? To be more realistic, I have noticed timeshares at the same resorts going from $1000 to $50000 and of course I factor in size, sleeping ability, amenities, etc., but still, that's a huge difference and can it be real? Are people trying to desperately dump their TS in this economy? I did notice that some on EBAY were bankruptcies with past due amounts that the buyer has to assume but there are also buyers who are prepaying all closing costs and maintenance fees and basically paying the buyer to take their timeshare off their hands. Does this mean this is a good time to grab one of these deals? Is it better to buy a bargain timeshare than continue to rent? I am thinking that buying one is basically just guaranteeing that you will have that week to stay in Aruba guaranteed every year (unless you buy a floating one which I don't even understand yet) without having to make all the effort to find a rental like I did this time. The cost of renting and maintenance fees can be pretty much the same as lots of owners are willing to rent for those fees if not a little less or more. So it seems the only benefit is the guarantee of having the suite when you want it and being able to trade to other locations if you wish to do so. I also have no idea how that works.
    Any feedback on this?

Aruba since 1979
    my comments in red

Quote Originally Posted by amarg View Post