Map of Aruba
    Get this expert island guide with tips on places to visit, customized trip itineraries, offline maps, augmented reality and trip sharing. It’s like having your own personal tour guide in Aruba!
    • Free Download
    • 100% Offline
    • Travel Guide Directory
    • Navigation & Augmented Reality
    • Online Trip Sharing
    Click for menu
    Radisson Aruba
    Edit link:

    National Geographic Destination Leadership World Legacy Awards

    Take 2 Minutes in Aruba

    National Geographic Destination Leadership World Legacy Awards
    Logo for the National Geographic Destination Leadership World Legacy Awards

    The 15 finalists of the inaugural National Geographic World Legacy Awards were unveiled on stage at ITB Asia in Singapore.

    The World Legacy Awards, a partnership between National Geographic Society and ITB Berlin, showcase the leading travel and tourism companies, organizations and destinations ranging from historic monuments to ecolodges and from small islands to entire countries that are driving the sustainable tourism transformation of the travel industry based on National Geographic’s work of inspiring people to care about the planet.

    More than 150 World Legacy Awards entries were received, representing 56 countries and six continents. Finalists in five award categories were selected by an international team of 18 judges who are experts in sustainable travel and who are now conducting on-site inspections of the finalists.

    Aruba has been nominated as a finalist for the following award:

    Destination LeadershipRecognizing destination leadership, including cities, provinces, states, countries and regions that are demonstrating environmental best practices, protection of cultural and natural heritage, benefits to local communities and educating travelers on the principles of sustainability.

    • Aruba Tourism Board, Caribbean — Setting an example of what is possible to combat global climate change, Aruba has invested heavily in alternative energy, including extensive wind and solar systems now in place, with the goal of becoming the world’s first country to operate 100 percent fossil-fuel-free by 2020. Its smart growth model also encourages “walkable destinations” to reduce reliance on automobiles.

    Costas Christ, chairman of National Geographic World Legacy Awards, said, “Sustainable tourism is evolving from a niche trend to a true global transformation of how the travel and tourism industry operates and what impacts it has on the people and places that travelers visit. The World Legacy Awards are about celebrating that transformation, pushing it to the cutting edge of leadership today, as represented by these 15 finalists and others around the world who share their passion for doing well by doing good.”

    The winners will be announced at a gala at the World Legacy Awards Ceremony in March 2015 at ITB Berlin. Finalists and winners will also be featured in National Geographic Traveler magazine and other National Geographic media.

    For more information please visit: