This site uses cookies. Some are essential while others improve your browsing experience and allow us to advertise. For more info visit the privacy policy page.

Allow inessential cookies for:

Your preferences have been updated.

Thread: Building a house in Aruba

Post Thanks / Like

Building a house in Aruba

Folks, looking for some input.

I am a builder in Toronto with years of experience and we have made a decision to build our vacation property here in Aruba. We have been here a number of times and we are here now for 2 months going through property lots and trying to make as many connections as possible. We want to build in Noord area and we have 3 locations to choose from. We do not like the idea of purchasing an existing home as there is nothing suitable on the market. We have built a house in Europe so I know very well what I am getting myself into.

I will be managing most of the build
    We have the designs completed in CAD that can be trimmed to different lot sizes.
    We may be importing some of the materials either from Canada/USA or Europe depending on prices or logistics.

I am looking for some insight regarding average building costs per m2. I am meeting with a "builder" next week to go over the process but I would like to gather as much info as possible before that. I've met with two renovation general contractors and have gotten some idea regarding finishing work. Also, what level of corruption may I be facing when it comes to construction in Aruba?

We already have a number of potential property management and maintenance personnel so post building stage is pretty much covered.

Any input will be appreciated!
    Cheers
    Last edited by andre.berto; 01-16-2021 at 10:48 PM.
    0 0

Aruba since 1979
    Post Thanks / Like
    hi andre...welcome to the aruba.com community forum.

I moved your posting to the property owners category.

I expect you will get numerous replies.

good luck